Apr-Oct: 10am-6pm; rest of year: 9am‑5pm - closed 1 Jan, 24-25 and 31 Dec
This castle was built by Philip of Alsace, Count of Flanders, in 1180. It was fully restored in the early 20C. Its architecture drew inspiration from Crusader forts in Syria. Inside the curtain wall, visitors can see the Romanesque gallery and fine rooms of the Count's House. One chamber contains a collection of instruments of torture, recalling that the castle served as a prison for many years. Note the fine view of Ghent and its surroundings from the top of the keep.
Itinerário a partir deste lugar
Itinerário para este lugar
Itinerário passando por este lugar
Hotéis à proximidade
Restaurantes à proximidade
Sítios turísticos à proximidadeSítios turísticos à proximidade